George Cummings Relay

The 2017/2018 Maryhill Harriers Merit League kicked off with a bang on Saturday, as 14 runners made their way to Houston to take part inthe George Cummings Relay.  In unprecedented scenes, we were able to field not one, but two female teams for the first time, meaning plenty of points were up for grabs.

Our newly appointed captains, Craig Gilmour and Linda Sinclair, had picked 2 teams each to compete against a total crowd of 349 runners including Scotland Olympian Callum Hawkins. This relay takes place over 4.2km undulating course, with a speedy downhill finish back into the village. 

In terms of Merit league placings, Kevin beat his previous years time by nearly 20 seconds to take full points for the men in 15:35. It was a close battle for 2nd with Kieran and Craig G both recording course PB’s, Kieran edging it out in 16:42 to Craigs 16:54. I finished in  a disappointing 17:06 to round off the Team A results.

A big thank you to Lochlann Henderson, who shrugged off an injury to fill in at the last minute for the Mens B team and ran a very impressive 18:10. Behind him, Kenny and Chris renewed their fierce rivalry with an epic tussle, Chris pipping his adversary by just 1 second followed by Chris Gunn. 

Onto the Ladies teams, and it was hard fought victory for Team A. Lynsey produced a very impressive 19:58, followed by Linda in 21:35 and Caroline in 22:07. Team B put up an admirable fight, and it was great to see Cat Nisbet back in blue and running well.

Overall a great day out for the Harriers and a good way to kick off the new season. Thank you to Kieran and Kenny for the transport and to our two mascots Skye and Cara for their cheers! Also great to see Nirmal coming along to cheer us on. 

Full Harriers results below with merit league points in brackets:

62nd  Maryhill Harriers   (Mens Team A) 1 00:16:54 Craig Gilmour (28)
    2 00:17:06 Scott Coulter (27)
    3 00:16:42 Kieran Sullivan (29)
    4 00:15:35 Kevin Campbell (30)
102nd Maryhill Harriers   (Mens Team B) 1 00:20:26 Kenny Henderson (24)
    2 00:20:25 Chris Hever (25)
    3 00:18:10 Lochlann Henderson (26)
    4 00:22:44 Chris Gunn (23)
25th Maryhill Harriers (Ladies Team A) 1 00:22:07 Caroline Hever (28)
    2 00:19:58 Lynsey Parker (30)
    3 00:21:35 Linda Sinclair (29)
28th Maryhill Harriers (Ladies Team B) 1 00:22:08 Margaret Peebles (27)
    2 00:22:36 Cat Nisbet (26)
    3 00:22:37 Susan Gunn (25)